Story Telling at 1,000 Words a Day

I wish I could force myself to be more consistent in my writing. I have spurts of creativity, like the past few days where I’ve been writing 1,000 words a day, followed by days where I can barely force out a few hundred words or just walk away. It all comes from my brains need to digest what I’ve written.

There was a terrible tragedy shortly after I completed my first draft, I lost over 15,000 words in a technology struggle with OneNote and OneDrive. It isn’t worth describing, but a lot of modern software developers try to do way too much for you and end up screwing you over. Anyway, I got frustrated and grabbed the available backups and restarted. It was devastating and took many months to recover from, and I still wish I had those final two chapters for reference, even though I have a good idea of what I had written.

I’m over 83,000 words now. And it has become a metaphysical certainty that I cannot complete this novel with less than 100,000 words, regardless of how I’m fighting it. However, there’s still a chance I can edit it down in a final draft, but there’s a greater likelihood that the edit will add even more words.

I suppose I’ve tried to contain the story to a smaller novel because I’m conscious of the printing costs if I self-publish.

In that regard, I’m still considering breaking the story into two books; pulling a chapter from Part II and placing it in Part I. I could add some material that I pulled out of an earlier drafts, and create a stand alone Book I. There’s a lot of good reasons to do this, for one thing, I can offer Book I for free as an eBook over Amazon, iTunes and others. Then immediately follow with Book II in print and eBook formats. I’d be able to publish for significantly less in print–a 60,000 word book versus 100,000. Plus, readers could studying my style for free and decide if they want to pay for Book II.

I’ve been playing with this Part I-Part II/Book I-Book II idea for some time now and I think this latest idea is promising. Either way I won’t get rich off of this story but if there is interest, then perhaps Book III can make some money. [As I say this I have that horrible feeling when I’ve made a stock market trade that I know is very bad or very good. *smiles*]

Anyway, I’ve been looking ahead to Book III a bit and even Book IV, where I believe the story reaches its conclusion. I have some notes on the ending, particularly a taste of a bittersweet irony. But this is hundreds of thousands of words away though.

 

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

