Part II is Half-Complete

A couple months ago I put Part I of my novel (40,000 words) aside to work on Part II. My editor Caroline had some very interesting idea that I explored. For one thing, I’d been inventing ways to make my heroine more active and it lead me down byways that were hollow. With Caroline’s evaluation I saw my way to an entirely new approach in Part II.

I started the new Part II with a complex outline. I was focused on tying historic events into the plot that my characters could interact in, but the main focus was to let my protagonist bloom. As of this date I’ve completed five of ten chapters in Part II or about 26,000 words. The new approach is very satisfying and I’m writing 1,000 words a day now… well, when I’m working. For example, next week I’m going to the Keys for a sentimental journey.

It looks like the novel will require another 25,000 to 30,000 words. Even if this thing expands to 100,000 words I think I can edit it down to 90,000 or even more in a final draft. Originally I was trying for a 60,000 word total, mainly because of self-publish costs; the cost of hard cover and paperback books can run up as word count expands.

Anyway, this cost thing has me rethinking how I go about getting published. Perhaps I’ll have to search for an agent/publisher. And after all the work I’ve done I’m not looking forward to hurling myself into that process. I could e-publish easily enough, but I like books and just can’t imagine going through the ordeal of writing to walk away without a nice hard cover book sitting in my book case. I suspect this is archaic sentimentality.

 

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

