Stalled at 52,000 Words

I got a manuscript evaluation from my editor and it was very insightful. One of her valuable observation was that I should divide the novel into two parts. I’d done this before but pulled the divisions out because I just wasn’t sure it is the way to go. Now I’m sure. An objective point of view can really help. Also, I’m making notes for the final draft, but I’m finding myself stalled out with only five more chapters to write.

I’m twelve chapters and 52,000 words into this novel. I really want to complete the remaining five chapters–about 20,000 words–but the really irritating thing is, I’ve written these chapters before in the first draft. And the basic plan and ideas are the same. But I’m blocked again. I’m pretty sure that the holiday ‘thing’ has slowed me down, so I’m not beating myself up too badly. I just wish I could breakout and race to the ending.

In the meantime, I’ve been creating two maps, one to be included on Part One and the other in the middle of the book at Part Two. The maps were also something I’d been thinking about, but my editor and I discussed it and now I’m more confident of the necessity.

I’m also working on a cover design, although I don’t have the artistic talent to make my ideas come to life. And then there’s the novel synopsis. The synopsis is something I really hate because I don’t see how they can explain the complexities of a novel, not to mention the emotions. Nonetheless, agents seem to thrive on having a synopsis, so I’m learning how to do this, but mainly I’m just reinforcing my hatred for writing a synopsis.

The final chapters requires that I improve my knowledge of several historic characters. Maybe this is part of my dilemma also. Oh well… on with the show.

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

