46,000 Words to Editor

I decided that it’s time to send the manuscript to my editor. It’s not complete, only 46,000 words, but I’m ready for the next wave of edits.

I’ve been looking for a good editor that I can truly work with. I learned a lot from my first editors, but I’m ready for an editor with more experience. I’ve worked with magazine editors in the past, so I’m used to the ebb and flow of the process. But this is a novel and the challenges are more advanced.

The main issue I have with many editors is that they underestimate you. They revert to trying to mold you into what they think you should be. I’m seeking an editor who will try to understand who I am, then help bring out the best I can create. I’m looking for a coach who sees my potential, rather than someone who endeavors to train to be like themselves. This may sound simple but my experience tells me its not common.

While the editors do their thing, I’m back to trying to finish the remaining chapters.

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

