Third Draft

It has taken two complete drafts of Part One and one complete draft of Part Two to reach this point. I estimate the combined writing for those drafts encompasses well over 100,000 words, and the backstory stuff is another 100,000. It has been an arduous process, building the story, creating the characters and settings. And, of course, all that research and as I’m constantly hearing, ‘Research isn’t Writing.’ Part Two is still a killer with research, all world building stuff but a lot of it is historical based.

One of my favorite mentors by way of webinar, has an expression I like, “Arrogance and ignorance are your friends.” It sounds arrogant and ignorant, but for me it is a way of marching into new territory. That’s kind of my style in most things. Where some study and take classes and seek advice, I choose to plunge in with reckless abandon. I’m also not embarrassed to say that during the past several months it has become necessary for me to learn all the traditional things. I don’t think I could have written this bad girl any other way.

Unfortunately, reckless abandon has left me with a lot of baggage to clean up, and I can’t see a better way to correct the problems than to start from scratch, kinda. I have a huge amount of material but all of it needs to be reorganized. Also, partly because I’ve chose a difficult narrative point of view and tense I’ll need to nail those down better.

I’ve begun re-writing the whole novel. The basic outline is unchanged and many of the chapters will present the same basic story. But I need to improve my storytelling skills and I particularly need to write to the genre with greater awareness. I still see that I have a lot to learn but I’m enthusiastic about the way forward. I figure it will take two-months to complete ~80,000 words, and confidence is high.

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Draft

  1. excellent stuff Yordie!! Keep going!! you are doing it!! Kudos girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

