Agent Plot Summary

I’m into the 2nd draft. It is starting to look like this bad girl will be 80,000-90,000 words when its done. I’ve relied on feedback from friends so far, but I probably should have gotten a professional plot analysis. So, today, I sent off a 1000 word synopsis to an agency.

I’m approaching a point where I’ll seek an editor, maybe within the next couple months but this last slog has been a dreadful drain on my energy. Each day I write for six hours in the morning. The plot and characters have become very intricate, perhaps subtle though, and each slight change to a setting or technology or character or anything seems to ripple through the story. That’s why I began the second draft after only 40,000 words. I had so many loose ends that just had to be tied up or pulled out.

I enjoy the work. Now that football season is over, life is free on the weekends but the extra time seems to just mean more of a mental drain. By the end of any day of writing my brain in swimming in the story, and not always in a good way. My friend Gecko has suggested I join a local writer’s guild but I’m reluctant. I’ve been to writing classes and even a guild once and while they’ve enriched my perspective, I doubt that anything less than a local guild that specializes in my genres would be helpful.

The novel is now two rather than three parts, 18 chapters. The second part is the descent into historic fact and despite the monumental research I’ve done already, I wish I had a historian friend who could guide me. I’m increasingly particular about details. I’ve used Google’s Earth to study the regions in-depth. This led me to realize that the sites I had chosen are probably far more vulnerable than I had hoped. One site in particular that seemed ideal, on the edge of a wooded coastal range would be perfect except that the wooded parts are relatively short trees and scrubs. I’ve had to add a chapter just to deal with this problem.

More and more as I watch movies or series, I’m disturbed when important facts are minimalized in stories. I mean, if a story hinges on a fact that is over or understated I find my whole commitment to “suspension of disbelief” falls apart. Writers should be more careful and far too many directors take shortcuts that create these buzz kills. In the modern world, with Wikipedia at your fingertips, a writer can create with infinitely greater care than at any time in history. I’d have to admit that this whole research thing is one of my great weaknesses, but I enjoy the learning. For example, I may have known some things about the military but requirements of this novel have made me much more astute.

Anyway, the plot thickens. Hopefully I’ll get some encouraging insights from the agency. I’m increasingly aware that I’ll have to self-publish the first novel though.

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Agent Plot Summary

  1. I’m so happy to hear that your novel is progressing, Yordie, despite the ups and downs that this kind of path always imposes upon the writer. Looking forward to reading it! Good luck for the rest of this perilous but, I’m sure, extraordinarily fun journey!

    Like

    • Yordie says:

      Hi Lizzie… thank you and great to hear from you. I’ve been so buried in this process I haven’t even made the rounds to my favorite blogs much. I’m hoping that once I complete a full 2nd draft I’ll be able to pull up the reins a bit. I enjoy the work but it truly drains my brain after a day of writing. Best wishes always and I hope to check in with you again soon. Hugs… Yordie

      Like

  2. Good for you Yordie and best of luck however you publish. I would be happy to read it when finished! Is it a mystery story? I’ve got a few books from blogging writers here that I have downloaded to my kobo reader.

    Like

    • Yordie says:

      Hi Cybele… It’s mostly science fiction. I’m a long way from the point where I’ll be spreading it around though. I’m not familiar with Kobo yet. I will offer over several ebook channels though. The story seems to be growing very quickly though. I’ve had to consider that I’ll probably end up with 90k, maybe even 100k words versus 80-90k just last week. I think a good editor will help me chisel it down though. Kindest regards… Yordie

      Like

Leave a Reply

