You Wonder How These Things Begin…

I am still working on my novel. I’ve been writing a summary of the story in an attempt to lay the whole thing out in front of me, but once again I’m confronted with the scope of the effort. I thought that if I just summarize it, it won’t seem so formidable but it is. So, here I am again with the re-realization that it is still Epic, perhaps even more so.

I had this cute idea, I’d write the story of how I tried to write this epic tale. But that was too depressing to even consider.

You wonder how these things begin. Well, I know how it began but I can’t explain why I thought it was a good idea to do ten years of research before beginning the writing effort. If you are me, you don’t want to make a fool of yourself by writing about topics that you haven’t researched. A whole lot of writers do this a lot, but not me. I wanted to have mastery of the subject matter.

I should have begun writing earlier. Geez, I have no trouble writing my thoughts about a world of ideas and events, what have you. In my defense, I didn’t know how this was going to unfold. I couldn’t see a path through all the elements I wanted to incorporate. And with each new fact that I learned it open new doors I wanted to open and explore. Even now, I’m still opening new doors.

I’ve already declared epic failure, so there’s really no reason for me to continue to flay myself here. It’s like with Second Life, there’s really nothing left for me there but I continue to hope I’ll find an inspiration.

As I write this I’ve just had an inspiration for the novel. If I return to my earliest approach to this project I might be able to revive it. In the beginning, I wrote a story about one of the characters. That story no longer fits easily into the overall scheme of the novel, but I like the story. It needs so rewriting and polishing but it is part of the richness of the tale.

There are other stories, many are very disjointed, but perhaps in the telling of these tales I’ll find a way to reveal some of the adventure I was hoping to tell. I’ll run with this for awhile.

About Yordie

I'm an avatar in Second Life where I star as the heroine of a virtual fantasy life. In the real world, I'm writing my debut sci-fi novel.
This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

